ISA Web Register Form

ISA History


In the year 1944, the Anaesthesiologists attending a surgical conference at Mumbai (Bombay) thought of forming a common platform for exchange of scientific views, which was consolidated in 1946 following “Ether Day” celebrations in October of that year. With the continued efforts of leading Anaesthesiologists of India, the Indian Society Anaesthesiologists was born on 30th December 1947..

The Society started as joint organisation with the Surgical-Obstetric Society of India. The founder members of the Society were

Dr. Ambardekar G.S. (Mumbai) Dr. Bhargava V.B. (Mumbai)
Dr. Talwalkar G.S. (Mumbai) Dr. Barat H.G. (Calcutta)
Dr. Chatterjee S.K. (Calcutta) Dr. Sur P.B. (Calcutta)
Dr. Bakshi S.K. (Delhi) Dr. Dhameja P.D. (Delhi) (Delhi)
Dr. Satyendra Singh (Delhi) Dr. Chandrasekhar N. (Delhi)
Dr. Prasad N. (Delhi) Dr. B.N.Sircar (Mumbai)

The torchbearers of the office were Dr. M.N.Desai (President), Dr. B.N.Sircar (Hon Secretary) and Dr. G.S.Talwalkar (Hon. Treasurer), (1949-51).